#CritLit2010 reflections – third week

Pragmatics
Managing connectivity on #CritLit2010

When connecting on CritLit2010 course I have to manage information in order to “be connected”, follow and participate on conversations.

On this experience I am thankful to Steve Mackenzie who made me suggestions about his strategy on #CritLit2010 connectivity. I follow him.

To interact with the participants of the course, I had to find a way to enter the conversation.

Here, I present my strategy and some recommendations:

Create an identity

Create a personal identity, visibility and allows us to know the participants of the blogosphere.

Open your blog

First of all, I  opened my blog on WordPress and complete my profile.  As I took part on CritLit2010 course, I introduce  myself  briefly on Moodle´s Forum and make a reference to my blog arenastudies.wordpress.com.  So, people could go and see about it.

On my blog, I made a widget “Blogroll” to add other blogs adresses of the course. Also I added a  widget with tweets RSS. I always use Tags with #CritLit2010 on my entries.

Filters & agregators

To access all the information published on critical literacy in the blogs, and the rest of the web, I learned to analyze and manage all that information. Although there are many tools, Google provides user-friendly applications.The way I follow contents, I use critlit2010 tag on Google Alerts, Google News. I also created a filter on Google Alerts suscriptions for all critlit2010 tag and a filter on my email for notifications. On Google  Readers, I made suscription to #Critlit2010, share for public the info and I add on follow People. Met on a platform, Google Reader, all information related to # CritLit2010. This, I added a subscription to # CritLit2010 and assigns a folder with this name.  I also subscribed to some blogs: John Mak, Steve Mackenzie which notifications comes to my email.

As conversations take place on  Twitter I also made some microblogging. I added #critlit2010 hashtag on my Tweets and I created a saved search on it. I follow then participants on the course and so they can follow me too.

The Daily is an important media to follow activities. It gives a lineal and useful order. On The Daily I did as Steve Downes told us on “How to Add an RSS Feed to CritLit201” on blip.tv. I do not know if I made it well because I could not see any post on the Daily yet.
😀

Others

Mozila Firefox Navegator
For Feeds, I also use Firefox RSS and open a folder labeled Critlit2010 . It is helpful to add and follow the links selected.

Delicious filter
I follow  all the bookmarks, notes, and tags about #CritLit2010, for any webpage by entering  URL to follow others participants. I also follow Steve Donwes and now I am looking for others.Delicious by creating a filter.

Other  aggregators are:
Friend feed
Digg
Fresqui
Keotag
Bloglines

Amplify
I use Amplify.com to post information and add followers to spread it on Twitter. It could by add for Facebook too.

In the end, I also added my Blog´s URL on Google to add it to Google´s index. I highly recommend it.

It is inevitable know all the spaces that emerged about CritLit2010: Digoo Group , Connectivism Group on Facebook (thanks John Mak!) worth to explore.

Participate

Participating with feedback and your experiences in the CritLit2010 Moodle forums and the posts from the blogs of colleagues brings awareness and fueling conversation. Make your contributions. Collaborate and provide your  views so that people know you and in turn to participate. Let´s start!

This entry was posted in PRAGMATICS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #CritLit2010 reflections – third week

  1. Abdrahamane says:

    You really summarized it all.
    I usually read the daily and visit the Moodle discussion forum, but appearently not much interaction is taking place on Moodle. I think, now, I’ll consider using Google alert.

    • maferarenas says:

      Abdrahamane, thank you. I think it is not enough and every one can have more ideas with their own experience.
      I agree that we have appearently not much interactions on Moodle forum. As Scott Lash said in his book “Critique of Information” we have nets with discontinuous contact. Communication & information flows in different directions.
      Good to see your blog.
      Regards,
      María Fernanda

  2. Hi Maria,
    So glad to learn about how you manage connectivity on this course. Great summary on strategy and connections.
    Looking forward to further sharing and conversations with you 🙂
    John

  3. Pingback: wp-popular.com » Blog Archive » #CritLit2010 reflections – third week | arenastudies

  4. Hi Maria,

    Enjoying your blog posts. Keep up the good work.
    Steve

  5. jennymackness says:

    Hi Maria – you visited the front porch of my blog a while back, which I really appreciated and I’m sorry that it has taken me all this time to reciprocate. I knew at the start of the CritLit course that I would mostly be an observer. I think I will be catching up with it months after the event has ended. Just wanted to let you know how much I have enjoyed reading your posts and I will definitely be posting others to this one.

    Many thanks

    Jenny

    PS I have visited Buenos Aires once – the most fantastic city!

  6. Pingback: #CritLit2010 | Moebius connectivity | arenastudies

Leave a Reply

