WEEK 1 | What Is Connectivism?

I have just applied to “Connectivism and Connective Knowledge” which is a Modular Open Online Course (MOOC) that over 12 weeks explores the concepts of connectivism and connective knowledge and explore their application as a framework for theories of teaching and learning.

I have had an experience on a MOOC by the end of July 2010 and it was about Critical Thinking. This concept involves  an essential personal skill that we must use to filter information and develop understanding. The experience was productive and an inner process. I learned in a new way to connect and collaborate to others. I think that “connecting  & collaborating” are challenges during the long life learning because of the complex of the learning environment which is open and always changing.

The characteristics of a MOOC are:

  • Course Open
  • Participatory
  • Distributed
  • Life Long Network Learning

I can agree with Jennymackness in that, in comparisson with CCK2010, this new Session CCK11 has a new distributed learning approach that facilitates learning autonomy. I can see that there is no central meeting place.

I order to be in touch and connected & collaborating:

I have a delicious account
http://www.delicious.com/marenas

My account in Twitter @maferarenas
My account in Facebook @ferarenas

I expect to experience learning connection and collaboration as Georges Siemens ´s  point of view of Connectivism as a Science of  Change.

Even though there is a link on the course web, I decided to post this video to share with the lecturers that describes what is and what is not a MOOC in an didactic way.

What is a MOOC?

Written and Narrated by Dave Cormier
Video by Neal Gillis

Massive Open Online Courses for Network Creation
by Davecormier

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment